Christian · Faith Blogger · Religious

The Daniel Fast

On our 2nd Sunday to church, one of the news bulletins was about the upcoming Daniel Fast. They informed that a sign up sheet was in the lobby for all who wanted to participate.

The previous Sunday, I had asked my husband the significance of the fast. He gladly explained in depth what Daniel had endured and how he fasted.

So to my husband’s surprise, I turned to him and said I wanted to sign up. Of course, in true fashion of my spirit. We were going to do this the right way. No meat. No dairy. No flour. Just hearty whole foods that we prepare and cook ourselves.

Soon, Pinterest became my go to tool. I was going to make sure my family ate what was required of the fast. We gave up fast food, caffeine, bread and all sweets.

Those were the most amazing three weeks. My husband and I prepared every dish together in the kitchen. It gave us time to talk about our days, talk about upcoming plans, and just talk. We loved every moment. We discovered a new level in our marriage. I mean we were happy in our marriage but this brought a new level of HAPPY.

One thing that had bothered me prior to all this, was my health. I had spent the last couple of years ill. I had been tested for all different sorts of upper intestinal and liver deficiencies. The only thing they had found so far was that I had what was called an non-alcoholic fatty liver. I had put on a lot of weight as well. It gave me a bad reputation at work because I was having to miss so much work when I was having a flare up. I had struggled the last half of 2016 to work through my pain and better my reputation.

My family and I stayed true to the Daniel Fast for the full 3 weeks. As I reflected on the time, I told my husband that I had no flare ups during the Fast. In fact, I had felt the best I had ever felt in years. Between my power walks and the foods we ate during the Fast, I was starting to really get in shape.

During my most recent doctor visit, he was surprised to see that I was doing so well and was able to confirm that my elevated levels had gone down.

I give praise to the Lord. He knew what he was doing.

One thought on “The Daniel Fast

Leave a Reply

